Lifesaver Candy Canes

December 23, 2013

I’ve had a couple comments about problems with the candy canes melting too fast.  I retested the recipe, making sure to use an oven thermometer to ensure my oven was properly calibrated (it was), and I stand by my original directions. 

Just a couple of notes. .

If you use fewer candy canes, they will be done faster.  So perhaps for 4-5 minutes. 

If you use more candy canes, they will take longer. 

While melting, I check mine every 2 or 3 minutes, and take them out when they are just melted.

If you leave them to cool on your hot cookie sheet, they will continue to melt. 

Buy an oven thermometer to ensure that your oven is calibrated correctly.

I keep my oven light on the entire time the candies are in the oven, so I can see them at all times.

This seems like a no brainer, but when you see that they are melted take them out.  The approximate times I have given, are just that – approximate.  Use your common sense.

Hope this helps!

Lifesaver candy canes. . .aren’t these the cutest?!  They’re fun to make, and there are plenty of jobs for all of the kids.  In fact, the only “adult” job is manning the oven.

So here’s the backstory . . .

My friend Janna was looking for something edible to make for her daughter to sell for a school economics project, and she found this idea here.

After listening to her talk about them on the phone, I was running for the car keys to buy some Lifesavers of my own.

Janna made her’s with red and white Lifesavers, but I knew I wanted rainbow ones.

All you need is. . .

hard Lifesavers candies (any color of your choice)

a cookie sheet

parchment paper

*treat bags and ties are optional, but I recommend them.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Have the kids unwrapped all of the candies and set aside.  It’s handy to have the trash nearby for this part – those wrappers can make a big mess quick!

Place 8 Lifesavers in a candy cane shape on the parchment-line cookie sheet – make sure they’re touching!

Place the cookie sheet in the oven for 4 – 6 minutes.  *I had 4-6 candy canes on each cookie sheet.

Take them out of the oven and slide the parchment sheet (with candy canes) onto the table to cool.

Repeat with remaining candy.  I was able to make 12, give or take, with a regular-size bag of Lifesavers.  Imagine how many you could make with the huge bag!

When they’re cool you can package them for giving.  They can be fragile, so I like to place them in a cellophane bag (with the opening on the bottom) and twist tie them.

These are really cute tied onto gifts, and packages, as an edible accent/decoration.

*This idea has also been published in Kraft Food and Family Magazine – Holiday 2004.

Linking to One Artsy Mama Holiday Party, I Heart Nap Time

15 thoughts on “Lifesaver Candy Canes

  1. Sue says:

    Lifesaver Decorations. Make a good sugar cookie recipe, that gives you hard and crisp cookies. Using cookie cutters, make angels, hearts, trees and whatever. Using a small 3/4 to 1 inch round cookie cutter, cut a circle out of each of these. In the centre of each, place a coloured “gem”- a lifesaver. This will melt into a stained glass “window”.
    Place on a non-stick or Pammed cookie sheet and bake for the normal recipe time, being careful to check for overbaking and bubbling.
    The decos can be hung onto your tree, and will not only look marvellous in the lights but present a beautiful little gift to the kiddies on Christmas Day.

    Like

  2. Jessica says:

    I was so excited to do this and I checked on them after 4 minutes and found a huge runny mess!!! It may be better at like 200 instead of 325. A cute idea but it was definitely a Pinterest fail!

    Like

  3. Desiree Golnick-Ross says:

    I tried this and it did not work. I am very dissatisfied, but however, I would like to find out how using your recipe to the T, I somehow still managed to turn it into a black bubbling mass on sugar water, please reply to me. I wish to make more but I am unable to.

    Like

    • blondieandbrownies says:

      I’ve posted some suggestions for troubleshooting above. Perhaps watching them for 4 minutes while they melt in the oven would help prevent the burning you experienced. Let me know if you try again, and were successful! Good luck!

      Like

  4. Sonia says:

    Just made these and they turned out great! I used foil to put them on and checked them every minute or so. It took mine about 4 minutes. Perfect!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.