Bagel Seasoning (My Favorite)

I love bagel seasoning. My latest breakfast routine has been 1/2 a toasted plain bagel slathered with cream cheese topped with lots of bagel seasoning, then topped with fresh baby spinach, or this summer slaw.

I think Trader Joe’s bagel seasoning is okay, but it has so many poppyseeds that when I get close to finishing it, that’s all there is – poppyseeds everywhere! It’s also super salty. So, I decided to throw together my own. As you can see, I really went for it with the dried garlic and onion, because to me – that’s where all the flavor is at. I highly recommend using Maldon Sea Salt Flakes (it’s available on Amazon.com, or in person at The Fresh Market, Williams-Sonoma, and Lowe’s Foods).

Bagel Seasoning

2 Tablespoons dried minced garlic

2 Tablespoons dried minced onion

1 1/2 Tablespoons white sesame seeds

3/4 Tablespoon black sesame seeds

1 teaspoon poppy seeds

3/4 teaspoon Maldon Sea Salt Flakes

Stir all the ingredients together and store in a covered container (such as a small deli container, or jar) for a year. Sprinkle on whatever your heart desires!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.