Peach Topped Ricotta Toast with Honey

october-2016-052

I can’t believe it’s October – yikes!  Where has the year gone?  I was in Walmart this weekend and I found some huge peaches from California.  They were truly too beautiful, and fragrant, to pass up.  I hate to admit it, but I’ve been back twice to replenish my dwindling supply.

In all honesty, I have never seen peaches like this for sale so late in the year.  I’ve been thinking about canning a few peaches, but I haven’t made up my mind what I’d do with them once they’re canned.  Hm maybe I’ll make some peach barbecue sauce – it’s so good on ribs!

But for now, I’ve been eating them fresh.  One of my favorite ways to eat fresh peaches is with ricotta cheese and honey on toast.  It’s so good!

But please, please, please, please, please, promise me that you’ll make your own ricotta if you try this!  You’ll be sorely disappointed in the ricotta at the supermarket.

For the toast you’ll need: toast, honey, and fresh peeled (and sliced) peaches.  You can also serve toast slathered with ricotta and topped with seasonal preserves or jam – that’s the way I used to eat it growing up.

Easy Ricotta Cheese Adapted from Barefoot Contessa

4 cups whole milk

2 cups heavy cream

1 teaspoon coarse kosher salt

3 Tablespoons white wine vinegar

Place a large sieve over a large bowl, and line the sieve with 2 layers of cheesecloth.  Set aside.

In a medium pot, heat the whole milk, heavy cream, and salt on medium high heat – stirring occasionally with a wooden spoon.

When the milk mixture has come to a boil, turn off the heat and add the vinegar all at once.  Stir a few times, and then let it set for about 5 minutes, while the milk mixture curdles.  The curds are not large, it just looks like spoiled milk.

Pour the mixture through the sieve.  Let it set on the counter to drain and cool, wrap the cheesecloth over the exposed cheese on top.  Once most of it has drained (about 20 minutes), pour out the liquid in the bowl and place the sieve back over the bowl.  Set it in the refrigerator to drain overnight.

In the morning, remove the cheese from the sieve and place in a covered container to store in the refrigerator.  It keeps well for about 5 days.

To make my favorite peach toast, slather a thick layer of ricotta cheese on toast, then top with peeled sliced peaches, and drizzle heavily with clover honey.

 

Leave a Reply

