Cranberry Spiced Pecan Goat Cheese

January 2016 091

So who knew this whole cranberry-pecan-goat cheese was a thing?  I guess I’m a little late to the party.  I actually just happened upon this combination this past weekend while searching for some cheese for a platter I was putting together.

You see, every New Year’s Eve we have seafood (lobster, scallops, shrimp, and sometimes crab).  And every New Year’s day we have appetizers.  It’s a great way to keep everyone noshing while watching football or playing board games.  It’s also a well deserved night off for me!!

I’m not big on blue cheeses, so my husband suggested I try the last slice of a cranberry pecan goat cheese that our local Fresh Market was offering.  So we brought it home and I think I ate all but a few bites (luckily it was only 1 ounce).  It was fabulous!

So of course I had to recreate it, and I think mine is even better!

Cranberry Spiced Pecan Goat Cheese Adapted from Cooking with Curls

5 ounces of Goat Cheese (I bought 5 – 1 ounce slices of goat cheese)

1/4 cup dried cranberries, roughly chopped

1/4 cup whole pecans, chopped

1 Tablespoon shelled pistachios, chopped

2 Tablespoons Turbinado sugar

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 Tablespoon salted butter

In a small sauce pan on low heat, toast the pecans and pistachios in the butter for 2 minutes.  Then add in the sugar, ginger, cinnamon, and cranberries.  Stir constantly to make sure the mixture is coated in  butter, and that nothing burns.  Heat for about 5-7 minutes, or until the spices and nuts are fragrant and the butter has all but disappeared.  Set aside to cool.

Place the nut mixture onto a cutting board and roll the goat cheese in it, being sure to press the mixture firmly into the cheese.  Also, make sure to coat the ends of the cheese.

Place on a serving tray and serve with crackers, or cover and refrigerate up to 3 days.

*I like to sprinkle some extra nut/cranberry mixture around the cheese – you can not have too much!

 

Leave a Reply

