Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

July 2015 046I’ve been blogging for 4 years now!  I can’t hardly believe it.  And in all that time, I still haven’t completely figured out how to work my darn camera.  So, my goal over the next few months is to try and figure it out – manually!  This photo is my first attempt – so please bear with me!

On a similar note, some friends and I just got through throwing a baby shower, and one friend was surprised at the number of cookie photos I had on my camera.  I guess it’s kind of hard to explain to someone who isn’t a food blogger that it takes a zillion photos to get a good one to post!

So yes, this recipe is gluten free and yummy!  Oddly enough, before this shower, I had only been in the same room (knowingly) with only one other gluten free person.  So imagine my surprise to be in a room full of three others!  Luckily we had lots of gluten free desserts to choose from – and this was one of them!

It’s gooey, soft, and filled with chocolate chips – I know you’re going to love it!

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Bar Adapted from my mom

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup dark brown sugar, packed

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 cup canola oil

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon coarse kosher salt

2 cups gluten free flour (I used Cup 4 Cup)

1 – 2 cups chocolate chips (your preference)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and spray a 9 x 13 inch pan (with two inch sides) with nonstick spray.  Set aside.

In a stand mixer, beat together the sugars, butter, and oil until creamy.  Add in the eggs and beat until combined.

Add the vanilla, baking soda, salt, and flour and beat until combined.  Stir in the chocolate chips.

Spoon batter into the prepared pan and smooth out.  Bake for 23 – 25 minutes*, until lightly browned.  Let cool in the pan before slicing.

*I prefer these cookies slightly under baked so they’re soft and gooey!

Store in a covered container at room temperature for up to 4 days.

Leave a Reply

