Oatmeal Snickerdoodle Cookies

July 2015 069

The other day my husband called me and told me that he and some co-workers wanted to know if I could replicate some oatmeal snickerdoodle cookie they’d had at lunch.  I’ll be honest, it’s hard to recreate something that I’ve never tasted, let alone seen, but since I didn’t have a baseline to adhere to I felt pretty good about giving it a shot!

So, without further ado, here is my replication of some cookie with unknown origins!  My daughter says it’s “amazing that you can taste the oatmeal inside the cookie, but not see it.”  Perfect for kids lunchboxes everywhere!

Oatmeal Snickerdoodle Cookies Adapted from my mom

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 eggs

2 3/4 cups flour

1/2 cup old-fashioned oatmeal (ground in a food processor)

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon coarse kosher salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

Sugar Cinnamon Topping:

2 Tablespoons sugar

2 Tablespoons cinnamon

2 Tablespoons old-fashioned oatmeal (ground in a food processor)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Line baking sheets with parchment.  Set aside.

In a mixing bowl, beat together the butter and sugar until creamed together.  About two minutes.  Add in the eggs and beat until combined.

Add in the salt, cream of tartar, baking soda, and vanilla.  Beat just until combined.  Add in the ground oatmeal and the flour beating until a thick dough comes together.

Using a 2 teaspoon scoop, scoop dough and roll into balls with your hands.  Roll each ball into the cinnamon sugar topping until well coated.

Set the dough ball on the parchment and continue – making sure there is enough space between each cookie for spreading.

Bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes.*  Slide the parchment off the hot cookie sheet onto a clean counter and let cool completely before removing cookies.

Store in a covered container for up to 4 days.

*My cookies are done in 8 minutes.  It’s really hard to estimate doneness since the cookie is covered in brown coating.  So I look to see that all the cookies have risen in the middle.  If some look a little sunken in right in the center, I bake them for another minute or two.  Also once they are off the cookie sheet they are incredibly soft until they haven completely cooled.

 

One thought on “Oatmeal Snickerdoodle Cookies

Leave a Reply

