My Favorite Chocolate Fudge Cake (Gluten Free)

February 2015 150

I love chocolate cake, but being gluten intolerant for the last 13 years – well, I don’t always go to the trouble of making myself dessert for holidays and special occasions.  But that may have to change since I’ve discovered this recipe!

February 2015 170

This cake is dense, moist, fudgy, and I love the texture of the chocolate chips.  No need for frosting!  You could serve it as a muffin, but it just screams dessert to me!

My Favorite Chocolate Fudge Cake Adapted from Half Baked Harvest

1 1/2 cups gluten free flour (I used Cup 4 Cup)

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I used Natural Hershey’s)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon coarse kosher salt

2 eggs

3/4 cup buttermilk

1/4 heaping cup sour cream

1/2 cup canola oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup hot coffee

1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips, divided

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line a muffin pan with 18 liners, and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

Next, measure the buttermilk, canola oil, vanilla, eggs, and sour cream and whisk together in the measuring cup or in another bowl.

Pour the wet mixture into the dry and, using an electric mixer, beat until combined.  Slowly beat in the hot coffee.  Stir in 1 cup of chocolate chips.

Using a 2.07 ounce disher, scoop the batter into the muffin liners (I prefer to use large liners – 2 x 1 1/2 inch, I bought mine here).  Top each muffin with chocolate chips (this takes the remaining 1/2 cup).

Bake in the oven for 20-22 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  If there is melted chocolate on the toothpick, instead of batter, get a clean toothpick and insert it into a new spot.

These keep well for 3-4 days, partially covered at room temperature.  You may also freeze them for up to a month and reheat them in the microwave.

*Just a note: I’ve tried making this recipe with regular wheat flour for my family and it turned out dry and unappealing.  Believe me, it’s best made with Cup 4 Cup flour for your favorite gluten free people!

Leave a Reply

