2 ingredient Whole Chicken {In the Crockpot}

December 2014 084

I think I’m almost ready for the New Year.  I don’t really do the whole resolution thing per se, but I do spend quite a bit of time trying to think of how to simplify my life.  And for me, dinner is a big part of that simplification process.  And dinner doesn’t get any simpler than this!  A whole chicken roasted in the Crockpot.

I sort of stumbled into this method out of necessity.  I live near a chicken processing plant and buy my chickens already seasoned and frozen – in bulk.  It was taking forever to defrost a whole chicken in my refrigerator (because it thinks it’s a freezer – can’t wait for it to die so I can buy a new one!), so out of desperation I threw the whole frozen chicken into my Crockpot, and I’ve never looked back.

If you don’t have access to already seasoned and frozen chickens, simply season your own and freeze!  There is no need to add water when cooking the chicken!

2 Ingredient Whole Chicken

1 whole chicken

seasoning salt or other spice rub

Generously season the whole chicken with seasoning salt, and place in a 2 quart freezer bag.  Once frozen, use any time you like by placing the whole frozen chicken in a Crockpot for 10 hours on low.

*I have cooked the chicken for 8 hours on low in a pinch, and it was good, just not as tender as cooking for 10 hours.

Bonus!  You can strain the juices from the cooked chicken and freeze in large ice cube containers for instant stock cubes!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “2 ingredient Whole Chicken {In the Crockpot}

Leave a Reply

