Amaretto Sauce

December 2012 294

I hate everything about camping – the bugs, the hard ground, flies on my food, the heat – you get the idea.  So if I have a choice between roughing it and a hotel (with room service only – please, I’m begging you!!!), I will always pick the hotel.  Always.

About a zillion years ago, my sister and I took our families up to Colorado to visit our spritely Grandma.  I stayed in a hotel and yes, they had room service.  I was so very excited.  I ordered a cheesecake with amaretto sauce.

I was a little skeptical at first, because the sauce was clear, save for the few specks of what appeared to be cinnamon.  It was amazing!!!

Literally, the first thing I did when I got home was recreate this sauce.  It’s sticky, sweet, with a hint of cinnamon, and it’s perfect on top of cheesecake.

Amaretto Sauce Adapted from Anyone Can Cook

1/2 cup sugar

1/3 cup light corn syrup

1/4 cup amaretto

1 pinch cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

In a medium pot, stir together the first four ingredients.  Cook just until boiling, then take it off the heat, and stir in the vanilla.  Serve warm.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

