The Best Blueberry Muffins

September 2014 193

I couldn’t very well post a packaging idea featuring these yummy blueberry muffins without sharing the recipe with you all!  I love making these – they are so soft and delicious.  The secret to all that deliciousness is the sour cream and the mini blueberries (I buy Wyman’s frozen Wild Blueberries*).

September 2014 203

You know those Duncan Hines Blueberry mixes with the mini blueberries in the can?  I used to buy the mixes just to get those tiny berries to mix into my own batter.  So I was elated when I found the Wyman’s frozen blueberries at my local Fresh Market – I may or may not have bought 8 bags on the spot.

September 2014 204

What can I say?  Walmart has conditioned me to buy excessively (because as you know, if you see it there once it may never be back).  Or maybe it’s back, but hidden in a different location.  Don’t get me started!!!

The Best Blueberry Muffins Adapted from Gluesticks

1 1/2 cups flour

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/3 cup canola oil

1 egg

1/3 cup sour cream, full fat

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup rinsed frozen blueberries

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and line a standard muffin pan.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder.  Then add all of the wet ingredients and stir together – the dough will be stiff.

Stir in the blueberries – if there are a few bluish purple streaks in the batter that’s okay!

Scoop the batter into the muffin liners using a Zeroll #30 disher (1.03 ounce).

Makes 12.

*This is the part where I’m supposed to tell you that Wyman’s and The Fresh Market did not compensate me for this post in any form.  In fact, they don’t even know I exist!  I just happen to be a really big fan of Wyman’s Wild Blueberries (and I can only purchase them at the Fresh Market) and had to share them with you all because they’re just too good to keep to myself.

 

Leave a Reply

