River Bar Blondies

January 2014 012

I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to post a blondie recipe!  This one in particular reminds me of my childhood – specifically the river of chocolate.  I don’t know about you, but sometimes when I eat something nostalgic from my childhood I’m disappointed.  Maybe I had low expectations back then?

Well, these don’t disappoint in the slightest – bake them for a shorter period if you like gooey bars.  I prefer them right in between, so that they’re still moist when they’re cool, but not dry from being over baked.

River Bar Blondies Adapted from Debbie Macomber’s Cedar Cove Cookbook

2 sticks, unsalted butter

1 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed light brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Line a 9 x 13 inch pan with parchment, spray with cooking spray.  Set aside.

In a large glass bowl, microwave the butter until almost completely melted.  Add the sugars and beat until incorporated (about 1 minute).

Add the eggs, vanilla, and salt and beat until light in color.  Add the flour and beat until combined, then stir in the chocolate chips.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for about 30-35 minutes.  The top will look crackly and lightly browned.  Cool completely.

Then add the river of chocolate.

Chocolate River

1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

2 Tablespoons Crisco

Melt the chocolate and Crisco in a microwave safe bowl in 30 second intervals until melted.  Stir.  Spoon chocolate in a winding fashion down the bar and let set.

January 2014 004

2 thoughts on “River Bar Blondies

  1. Joanna says:

    Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us! 🙂

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 3000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the trafic that we are sending to your blog.

    Add our widget and hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list!
    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards, Joanna
    mytaste.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

