Warm Spinach Parmesan Dip

March 2014 080

My husband took me out to lunch at a restaurant called Houlihan’s for my birthday.  It was a blast.  And the food, it was great because it was different.  For instance, they serve a shredded lettuce salad with a confetti type arrangement of small bacon bits, yellow corn, and croutons.  And they have this delicious warm spinach dip that’s really addicting.

We sat there (a little too long) trying to dissect every ingredient so we could attempt to recreate it at home.  This my friends, is my attempt.  My husband claimed it didn’t quite have the exact sour note as the dip from the restaurant, but he said he liked mine better.  If you know my husband, then you know that he doesn’t feed anyone bull.

Give it a try and let me know what you think!

Warm Spinach Parmesan Dip

2 Tablespoons unsalted butter

2 Tablespoons sweet onion, minced

1/2 teaspoon white pepper

pinch of salt

3 ounces frozen spinach, slightly defrosted and wet*

1 cup water, divided

1 teaspoon chicken base

1 1/2 teaspoons sugar

1/2 cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano (I grated directly into the measuring cup without packing it down)

3 Tablespoon sour cream, full fat

1 Tablespoon cornstarch

In a medium saucepan, sauté the onion in the butter over medium heat.  When the onions become translucent, add the spinach, the chicken base, and 1/2 cup of water.

Then add the sugar, white pepper, and the pinch of salt.  Stir and cook on medium heat until simmering.

Stir together the remaining 1/2 cup cold water and 1 Tablespoon cornstarch – whisk with a fork.

Add the cornstarch slurry slowly (you may not need all of it) to the spinach mixture, and cook until slightly thickened.  Add the Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese and sour cream and stir just until melted.

Serve with tortilla chips.

*I placed a block of frozen spinach in the microwave and defrosted it just until I was able to cut a section off, I then weighed it and added it directly to the pot.  Then I place the remainder of the spinach in a freezer bag and put it back in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

