A Special Engagement. . .

Brownies 068

My oldest buddy ol’pal, Gina, is getting married!  And boy do I love a good wedding.  They’re such a great excuse for good food, music, and friends to get together and celebrate.

Gina and I grew up together – as in we knew each other when we were babies (our parents were college friends), so we saw each other through the ups and downs of life, and spent many holidays celebrating together.

And while weddings bring out my happy, fun-loving side, the idea of marriage decidedly does not.  Not to be Debbie Downer, but it’s hard.  Am I right?

There’s this little thing I’ve been obsessed with lately.  I call it “celebrating mediocrity.”  You know, like when my husband cooks dinner once a year and then congratulates himself during the entire meal as if he’s never been served amazing food before.

Apparently (unlike me) his hands have been miraculously blessed and anything he touches is awe-inspiring.  To be fair, those are my words, not his (even if they’re spot on, ahem).

Yep, it’s hard to tolerate.  And when he has taken all of the kids with him to the grocery store because it was the weekend (and I was incredibly sick), old ladies and a few men have stopped to congratulate him on his bravery venturing out alone into the unknown with all of the kids without his dutiful wife.

Are you kidding me?  I sent him with a detailed list.  He’ll be fine.  That right there is “celebrating mediocrity” at its finest.  You will never see an old woman, or a man, stop to awe at me for shopping with my kids.

Nope, I get dirty looks for toddler meltdown in aisle 5.  So, the next time your husband does something mediocre, do what I do and raise an imaginary glass to him to celebrate – facetiously, of course.

Oh, sorry I’ll get down off my soapbox.  Where was I?  I mean before my whole tirade. . .ah, my dear friend Gina.

Yes, I’m so excited for her because she gets to have a wedding all about her, with flowers, and pretty dresses, and presents. . .and at the end of the day, a husband (to wait on, and clean up after, and take to the emergency room after he runs over his foot accidentally with the lawnmower blade – good times).

Let’s try this another way, Bob (that’s not his real name) is so lucky because Gina is one of the most sincere, honest, kind people that I know.  She is funny, and if you’re her friend, she’ll take anyone down who tries to talk bad about you.  She’s just as beautiful inside as she is outside.

I know that she’s going to put everything she has into this marriage, so he better bring it because she deserves nothing but the best.

So what are we waiting for?  Let’s celebrate!  Wouldn’t these be cute as individual servings of wedding cake?

Mini Angel Food Cake Adapted from Norpro Professional Essentials

1 3/4 cups sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup flour

12 egg whites (room temperature)

1/3 cup warm water

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 tsp cream of tartar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Process the sugar in a food processor until fine.  Put half the sugar in a bowl, along with the salt and flour and whisk – set aside.

In a large bowl whisk the egg whites, water, vanilla, and cream of tartar for two minutes.

Using the hand mixer to continue to beat the egg whites, slowly add the remaining sugar while continuing to beat.  Once the egg whites start forming peaks, spoon the flour mixture lightly over the top and using a rubber scraper fold into the batter carefully.  Continue to add the rest of the flour and fold into the batter.

Spoon the cake batter into ungreased cake cups until 3/4 full.  Bake for about 35 minutes, or until there are no crumbs on your toothpick or cake tester.

Immediately turn them over onto a wire cooling rack for at least 20 minutes.  After that time, you may have to loosen them gently from the pan with a nylon scraper (to not scratch the pan).

Store covered when completely cool, or serve.

I ended up with leftover batter and was able to make a pan of mini cakes using this pan.

Sources:
4 inch Silver Cupcake Pick

Mini Angel Food Pan

Individual Pie and Burger Bun Pan

Mr. & Mrs. Stamp

Flourish Frame Rubber Stamp

Mini Wedding Dress Copper Cookie Cutter

2 thoughts on “A Special Engagement. . .

  1. Gina R says:

    OMG…Gi! Tears in my eyes, that’s probably the sweetest stuff anyone has ever said about me! Thank you for acknowledging me and my engagement in such a way:) It really warmed my heart and made me remember what a real friend is made of. Can you break that down into a recipe?;) P.S. Love the individual cakes idea!!! Looks and sounds delish!

    Like

Leave a Reply

