Rolling Out Cut-Out Cookie Dough

I was talking to my sister (Hi Lisa!) today about sugar cookies.  Specifically, what makes them so challenging.  I decided it would have to be the fact that they’re so hard to cut out and remove from the counter intact.  I don’t know if others have suffered from this problem?  Perhaps it’s only me.

Anyway, a few years ago I bought this book, and it was literally the start of my sugar cookie baking/decorating hobby.  I discovered this great tip (in the book) for loosening cut-out cookie dough from the counter to ensure that you don’t end up with smooshed (and/or broken) sugar cookies, and I’ve been using it ever since.

Here’s a brief, badly photographed, left-handed (which I’m not) tutorial.

Roll out your cookie dough on a lightly floured surface, and using this spatula, gently move it up and down under the dough to loosen it from your counter.

Next just use your cookie cutter to cut out shapes, then lift them with your spatula and place on your parchment-lined baking sheet to chill or bake.

Easy peasy lemon squeezy!

3 thoughts on “Rolling Out Cut-Out Cookie Dough

Leave a Reply

