Just That Kind of Week

I know I’ve been MIA lately.  But it’s just been that kind of day, week, . . .month.  You know what I mean, because I’m sure you’ve been there too.  To sum it up I’ll just tell you about my Wednesday.  I ran a few errands, then returned home to my son vomiting on my bedroom carpet (on his way to the bathroom).  He finally made it to the bathroom and continued his business in there.

I was hoping that was it, but it wasn’t.  To spare you the minute by minute details, he vomited the rest of the day – I cleaned the floors no less than five times.  He just couldn’t make it to the bathroom in time, so my husband mentioned that I should give him a trashcan (why didn’t I think of that?).  While that greatly reduced my cleaning, my boy still couldn’t even hold down water – it went in and shortly thereafter it made a return trip back out.

I took him to the doctor – they insisted due to hydration issues.  We got some anti-nausea medicine and went on our way.  More vomiting.  I got the other kids ready for church class and then realized that one of them had to return a square of fabric with a drawing, embroidery, or some kind of picture detailing what gives them peace.  Talk about ironic.

Needless to say (being the super mom I am), I got the kids mixed up, wrote the wrong name on the fabric square, ranted and raved about it.  Then set off to make it right in the ten minutes I had to fix the problem I caused.  Well, you’ll be happy to know that I found a cupcake square I had cut out of an old kids shirt (which works because she said that baking cupcakes gives her peace) and sewed it over the wrong name I’d written (in sharpie, sigh).

I thought I was home-free and that another crisis had been averted, until I flipped it over and realized (miraculously) I’d somehow stitched another piece of fabric to the other side at the same time.  This could only be happening to me!  And I’m not proud of this, but I’m just trying to get by (you understand, right?) so I did what any desperate, tired, overworked mother would do and I just cut out the obtrusive fabric as best I could and sent it on its way.  Shameful (head hanging in defeat), I know, but who’s ever going to see the back of it, right?  Who am I becoming?!  Sigh.

This is what I ended up with. . .

I’ll be back in a few days with food, fun, and a few recipes!

2 thoughts on “Just That Kind of Week

  1. Jessica F. says:

    We had a similar thing happen a couple of weeks ago with our oldest child…a trail of vomit from her bedroom to the bathroom! Then 2 days later our middle child and I followed suit and a Rug Doctor was rented (I was able to make it to the bathroom, but our 4 year old wasn’t)! And three days after that, it was my husband’s turn. Thank goodness the baby didn’t get it, and fortunately, it was pretty short lived and we didn’t need any trips to the doctor. Sending thoughts of peace your way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

