Confetti Sprinkled Cupcakes with Snowman Cookie Toppers

I had another birthday party this weekend – and I’m exhausted!  I’m an introvert, so the socializing bit is always hard on me.  It’s not that I’m shy, because I’m decidedly not that, it’s just that I need time to myself to recharge.

Moving on!  I wanted a white cake with rainbow sprinkles baked in, and I had to frost it with my favorite Italian Meringue Buttercream.  Then, I decided to add the snowman topper to compliment the gingerbread playdough party favor.

Confetti Sprinkled White Cake Adapted from Clinton St. Baking Company

2 1/4 cups cake flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
1 cup whole milk
1 Tablespoon canola oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 large egg whites
3 Tablespoons of confetti/rainbow sprinkles
Cream the butter & sugar.  Add the egg whites, two at a time, beating well after each addition.  Beat in vanilla and oil.  Combine the flour, baking powder, sprinkles and salt; add to the creamed mixture alternately with the milk.
Pour into muffin liners and bake at 350 degrees for about 18 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool for 5 minutes, then remove from the pan.
*The cookies are baked sugar cookies frosted with royal icing.  So it was like eating two desserts in one!
One thought on “Confetti Sprinkled Cupcakes with Snowman Cookie Toppers

Leave a Reply

