Foodie Christmas Idea Guide 2011

I love to shop – as in “I-know-the-UPS-guy-by-name” love to shop!  So here are some of my top picks for foodies this Christmas season – these are all items that I’m crazy about, and use often.  I hope they help make your holiday shopping easier, or simply inspire you to think of the perfect gift for the foodie in your life.

These are Rainbow Pottery Prep Bowls, and I love them.  I bought them on Etsy from Karin Lorenc.  You can search on Etsy for other prep bowls if these aren’t available.  Besides being gorgeous and useful for all sorts of things (prepping, individual portions, etc.), Karin ships quickly.  I believe she only lists items when they are available to ship – so check back if they’re not listed, or convo her.

I have to confess that I’ve bought these exact bowls from her twice – once for my dad for Father’s Day, then another time for myself.  Both times there were wrapped carefully and arrived in perfect condition.

These squeeze bottles are really handy for homemade dressings, melted chocolate, or decorating cookies with royal icing.  On the left is a Wilton bottle I purchased at Walmart in the cake decorating section – where you’d find all of the frosting tips.  The middle (red) one I bought online at The Webstaurant Store (which has a great selection, but sometimes their quantities are large & shipping can be high- so make the most of it).  The last bottle (with the decorating tip) I bought from Karen’s Cookies – they’re reasonable and ship fast.

From the left, is a Wooden Mug Holder that I bought on Etsy to hang cookies and yummy soft pretzels on (for a carnival birthday party), but it could also be used for mugs.  Next are the milk bottles – which always seem to be on a waiting list – so order early, or search around.  I’ve also seen them for sale at Shop Sweet Lulu, but I haven’t had the pleasure of purchasing from them yet.

In the back is the lovely turquoise Fiestaware Baking/Pizza Plate that my friend Janna talked me into buying (the color only, that is).  I like it since I can slide it into the refrigerator easily (with a three layer cake on top), it’s dishwasher-safe, and (the real clencher) it’s made in the U.S.A.!  And finally, the practical Vermont Cutting Board, also made in the U.S.A.

I love these cookbooks. . .and about 300 others.  From top to bottom:

1. The Family Kitchen – buy it used. . .it’s worth it.

2. Summertime Anytime Cookbook – another used book choice

3. Baking With Julia

4. Snack Attack

5. Kids in the Holiday Kitchen

6. A Homemade Life

7. The Good Stuff Cookbook

8. Bobby Flay’s Burgers, Fries, and Shakes

9. Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey: Desserts for the Serious Sweet Tooth

10. Barbecue, Biscuits, and Beans

11. The Whimisical Bakehouse

12. Clinton St. Baking Company

13. Debbie Macombers Cedar Cove Cookbook

14. Bobby Flay’s Throwdown!

15. The Pastry Queen: Royally Good Recipes from the Texas Hill Country’s Rather Sweet Bakery

16. Baked

Bee Stand

It’s actually a stand for a beverage jar, but I use it as a cute display for my cupcakes and muffins.

Antique Rose Cake Plate

This plate is gorgeous and makes any occasion special.

Dough-Rising Bucket and Yeast Measuring Spoon

With the tub you’ll never have to worry about getting your dough to rise again, and the spoon measures out a packet of yeast (if you buy the yeast from a jar).

Paula Deen Pie Board

This board is large, and it’s great for kneading dough on because I can quickly change my location (and mess) if I need to share my counter.

Parchment Pan Liners

These liners are the perfect size for my cookie sheets – the shipping price is high, so buy a bunch!

Red Melamine Pour-Spout Bowl

This bowl is dishwasher-safe, lightweight, and small enough for the kids to use.

Pastasaurus Rex

He makes dishing up spaghetti fun.

12-inch Flat Roux Whip

This is a sturdy (dishwasher-safe) whisk for making gravy, and I’ve even been known to mix with it.

Big Digit Timer

This timer has easy to read digits, and after it goes off, the timer begins to count up so you know just how long you let your cookies burn in the oven.

Portable Timer/Clock

This timer is in high demand at my house because it’s on a string (and there’s a nifty magnet on the back which ensures it can always be found on my refrigerator).

Mini Melamine Berry Colander

I use this colander just about every other day for the kids fresh fruit.  It’s really small, so it’s perfect for their little hands to carry.

Kitchen Shears

I have about 3 pairs of kitchen shears, and I like this pair because they’re dishwasher-safe.

Ring Bell – scroll down to the 6th item!

The ring bell is the 6th item down.  The picture looks different from the one above, but this is the style of ring bell I was sent when I placed my order.  If you have any questions I would suggest contacting Kitchen Carvers before placing your order.  Also, check the homepage – sometimes there is a free item with (a minimum) purchase offer.

I have purchased six of these.  In my defense, four of them were for gifts!  I keep one of them on the ledge by my kitchen sink so I can easily remove my rings before washing my hands, or handling raw meat, etc.  I also think this would make a lovely wedding shower gift.  This is another item proudly made in the U.S.A.

Mini Food Chopper

I use my mini food chopper a lot – especially for small jobs, like chopping onions or grinding cookies.  It’s a perfect gift for those who already have large food processors, newlyweds, and college students.

I hope you’ve enjoyed previewing my list of my Christmas ideas – I had a lot of fun compiling it!  I have not received any form of compensation for my opinions, or referrals.

Happy Holiday shopping!

Linking to I Heart Nap Time

One thought on “Foodie Christmas Idea Guide 2011

Leave a Reply

