Sugar Sparkle Black Cats

This is (hopefully!) my last post for Halloween, I’m ready to change gears.  I was asked to bake cupcakes for my daughter’s school Halloween party to coordinate with the paper goods (pumpkin plates & bat napkins).  I thought pumpkin, bats, and black cats!   These were really fun to make, but don’t do what I did and not prep first!  I think they’ll be perfect to use as an edible topper on the cupcakes.

Sugar Sparkle Black Cats Adapted from What’s New, Cupcake?

2 cups of chocolate candy melts

2 cups of black sanding sugar

1/2 cup of royal icing, tinted orange or yellow

There is a cat template in the book (if you have it), or you can do what I did, and buy a small cat cookie cutter and trace a couple of cats onto your own copy paper.  Set the tracing sheet on a cookie sheet, then top with a sheet of wax paper.

Melt the candy melts in a double boiler set on top of simmering water; carefully scoop the melted chocolate into a squeeze bottle (if you have one), or a ziploc bag (with a small corner cut to pipe).  Pipe the outline of the cat, then fill in the center – gently tap the cookie sheet so the cat is smooth.  Then pour (I put my sanding sugar in a plastic cup) the black sanding sugar on the cat completely covering it.  Repeat.

Place the cookie sheet in the freezer for 15 minutes, or until set.  Gently peel off one cat at a time, shaking the excess sugar back onto the wax paper.  Then place the finished cat on a clean sheet of wax paper or parchment.  When you’re all finished, pour the extra sugar back into your cup and start the process again!

Pipe the tinted royal icing for the cat’s eyes and let dry completely overnight.

*I make one cat at a time to ensure that the coating hasn’t set before I shake on the sprinkles.

One thought on “Sugar Sparkle Black Cats

Leave a Reply

