White Chocolate Covered “Bones”

Happy October!  If you like chocolate covered pretzels, then this is the snack/candy for you!  I put my kids to work assembling the “bones” and I dipped them in chocolate in peace.

I made approx. 45 “bones,” and ended up with a small amount of leftover marshmallows, and over half a bag of pretzels – my kids love to snack, so they won’t go to waste.  If you don’t have a use for the leftovers, you may want to adjust accordingly!

White Chocolate “Bones” Adapted from Ghoulish Goodies

1 bag of mini-marshmallows

1 bag of pretzel sticks

1 bag of white chocolate or white candy coating (16 ounces)

Break the pretzel sticks in half, then stick a marshmallow onto both ends, pushing to secure to the pretzel – at times I felt like I was skewering them!

When you (or your kids) are all done assembling the “bones,” melt the chocolate in a double boiler.  If you don’t have a double boiler, place water in a pot and place a glass bowl on top so the bottom of the bowl is not touching the water.  Place the chocolate in the glass bowl and stir gently until melted.  Note: the water should just be simmering.

When the chocolate (or coating) is melted, place the “bones” in (one at a time) and coat with the chocolate.  With a small fork lift the “bone” out and place it on a parchment-lined cookie sheet.

When all of the “bones” have been coated with chocolate, place the cookie sheet in the refrigerator for thirty minutes.  Take them out, and try not to eat them all by yourself. . or at least not all in one sitting!

Linking to I Heart Nap Time, Tidy Mom

2 thoughts on “White Chocolate Covered “Bones”

  1. Jessica F. says:

    These looked so cute, so I made them with my 3 and 6 year-olds. They didn’t turn out quite as cute though…I used white chocolate chips, melted in a double boiler. It didn’t quite coat the “bones” as well as what is pictured above, and you could see the pretzels through the chocolate. Maybe I needed to try putting on another coat after refrigerating them the first time? Anyway, it was fun and they didn’t last long! Thanks for the cute and fun recipe!

    Like

    • blondieandbrownies says:

      Hi Jessica!

      Thanks so much for your comment about the “bones.” I used white candy coating for mine, and I took the candy off of the heat (but left it over the hot water) to dip them. And I noticed that as the candy cooled in the double boiler that the chocolate adhered more to the “bones.” I also completely submerged each individual “bone” in the chocolate melts, then I lifted each out by the pretzel part with a fork. Then after I set it on the parchment, I sort of swirled the chocolate from the fork to further cover the pretzel “bone.” Hope that helps!

      Gina

      Like

Leave a Reply

