Ladybug Cupcakes

These are the Ladybug cupcakes my daughter wanted for her birthday.  We found them while flipping through Martha Stewart’s Cupcake cookbook, and they are super cute.  But I wanted to make them extra special.

So I filled the middle with cream!  You can do this with any cupcake, by using a bismarck tip to inject the filling, or an apple corer (to remove the middle).  Either way, kids (and kids at heart) love the cream center.

Then I covered the top with ganache (to seal in the cream) and let it set in the refrigerator before decorating the top with buttercream icing.

Then, to top it off, I added dried royal icing ladybugs.  I waited to the last minute to add these, because they start soften after being in the buttercream (and the refrigerator) for a day or two.

Linking to I Heart Nap Time

One thought on “Ladybug Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

